On Jada, Janet & ‘Worrying about the wrong things’

I sent out an official piece for publication so I won’t post that yet but here’s a more free form blurb related to the Oscars and the latest news regarding boycotting and responses to it.

Bruh.
There is no reason I can’t simultaneously build within the Black community AND hold the systems and institutions that continue to devalue and disenfranchise people of color accountable. 
I’m not ‘worried about the wrong things’ for thinking the Oscars should be more diverse. 

Representation matters. When my brother goes overseas and tiny Japanese women run away from him at night because he’s Black even though they’ve never previously encountered an ACTUAL black person I’m reminded that representation matters.
On the flip side when students from a prestigious and diverse educational institution publicize their experiences with racism and are trivialized and silenced I am reminded why we need our own shit.
So scuse me while I walk, chew gum, listen to music, nod my head, milly Rock, shop for joggers and contemplate world domination simultaneously.
One time for the folks who get that race is worth discussing in every context. I don’t need to not care about the oscars so I can care about police brutality. I don’t need to stop worrying about meek mill making a fool of himself so I can #sayhername and I don’t need to stop watching scandal and empire so I can a free up some time to volunteer at the women’s shelter. I do all that shit easily and care free as fuck so all your judgement is gonna do is cause me to flex in the form of multiple status updates.
Now shut the fuck up while I kill shit in multiple ways, please and thanks.
#TruthfulTuesdays 

Leave a Reply

