#iTaughtMarcJacobs

I know he didn’t claim he created Bantu knots.

I’m just clarifying for those who assumed he did like Justine Marjan at Mane Addicts.

More than that I’m recognizing the beautiful Black & Brown women across the diaspora who are constantly berated for the same styles & attributes that later grace runways & magazine covers. 

Shall I make you a list to go with your latest lesson in originators vs. perpetrators? 

Don’t mind if I do : )

Baby hairs

Big butts

Tribal prints

African head wraps

Timbs

Cornrows

Full lips 

And the latest victim: Bantu knots (not to be confused with twisted mini buns)

This is just my way of telling my sisters I see them and reminding them the world sees you too, it just can’t always handle you in all your splendor. I’m quite used to my culture being loved while my people are hated but that does not mean I accept it. 

We taught Marc Jacobs.

 
  
  
  
   
   

  
  
  
  
  
  

Leave a Reply

