Aniah Ferguson is not a savage 

I have put life and limb on the line many times to stop my students from doing one another harm when I worked in some pretty perilous school districts. I know everyone won’t do that, it’s not in the job description. But to sit there while a child gets the stuffing beat out of her in a crowded, public place, is despicable. Part of the reason these kids act this way is not only their faulty value systems which have them convinced being ‘swaggy’ and ‘gangsta’ is what’s most important in life, but even when they leave their communities or their schools, here they are in the world with no one providing a moral compass. Not one person in McDonalds, customer or employee, had the balls, sense or compassion to break this up, or at the very least, speak up? But they’re the only ones being called savages? Methinks we’re all to blame. When you idly watch something like this you might as well have participated. This kid needs some YPOC and a grade A ass whooping in her life. But the adults who watch these things happen and then talk about these kids like dogs, I really don’t  have a solution for you. Constantly shaming these youth but WHO IS RAISING THEM?! Don’t get me wrong, this girls actions were reprehensible and her rap sheet at 16 is longer than my arm but let’s consider how this young woman got this way and whether or not throwing her in jail at the tender age of 17 will help or hurt her. Side note: I don’t recall the white dude who shot up the school full of first graders or the columbine kids ever being referred to as brutes or savages, but here we have a young black girl involved in a violent altercation where the victim lived and she is painted as a savage. I’m not saying she isn’t wrong. Her actions are despicable and she needs help. But why is it we make excuses and suggest mental illness in the case of murderers but paint a clearly troubled girl from an urban environment as a monster? #BlackLivesMatter#ItTakesAVillage #BlackGirlsMatter #SaySomething #DoSomething

9 thoughts on “Aniah Ferguson is not a savage 

    • Aniah’s own life doesn’t matter to her so why would someone else’s regardless of race? Like I said, I’d be asking the same questions on behalf of any young person on their way to jail and the way she was framed by the daily news with no regard to what made her this way is unfair. She needs help, not prison.

    • Just to let you know, the Colombine shooters were most DEFINITELY called savages, monsters, etc. Which they were. Since you clearly chose not to hear any of that, how exactly is a girl who stabs her own grandmother who Is trying to take care of her not a savage? This blog is written by yet another anonymous black person making everything about race.

      • My name is Tajh. No need for anonymity. And I’m not making what She did about race. It was horrible. I’m making the lack of treatment and willingness to throw her in the system about race. The statistics speak for themselves in terms of who is locked up disproportionately. You don’t have to agree with every point I made but all I’m suggesting is this kid get a chance at rehabilitation outside of prison. At least at first. As for the name calling, I’m glad to know the Columbine shooters were referred to as such, but I also know the country was trying to figure out why they did what they did in addition to painting them as monsters, which was minimal. I’m asking the that the same question be Considered in Aniah’s case. That’s
        all. Really take a moment to process that.

  1. Prison may save her life…the next victim might shoot or stab her. She doesn’t need to be on the streets, and she is not crazy enough for the psyche ward. Prison is the only option that makes society safe from this violent individual. Why wait for her to kill someone?

    • I don’t think we can judge from the outside whether or not she wouldn’t benefit from a mental health evaluation at the very least. I think a lot of people agree with your viewpoint but prison churns out many more repeat offenders than rehabilitated citizens especially when the incarcerated individual starts out in the system young.

  2. We can’t keep letting her off the hook kids have to learn at some point
    if it was my daughter who got beat up I would want charges pressed to the full

    • I completely understand that. WhT I’m suggesting is that how she got this way be examined, and that she get help in addition to punishment, lest she return to the streets with even more malice in her heart.

Leave a Reply

